"Today, Tennessee Walking Horses are known throughout the industry
as the breed that shows abused and tortured horses."

~ Jim Heird, Ph.D., Do Right By The Horse, February 2010

"If you have men who will exclude any of God's creatures from the shelter of compassion and pity,
you will have men who will deal likewise with their fellow men."

~ St. Francis of Assisi

Wednesday, May 29, 2013

HOW YOU CAN HELP - Please Send Out Some Positive Emails!

I received the list of members of the Executive Committee and the Board of Directors who did and didn't vote to support HR 1518.  Basically what happened is the EC voted on this in the morning, and it was then put to vote to the BOD.  The BOD voted on whether or not to rescind the vote of the TWHBEA executive committee supporting HR 1518 and to advise to amend HR 1518.

What we need are positive emails sent to those who voted to uphold the EC's vote.  Let them know that you appreciate their vote and you hope this means a huge change is coming for the TWH industry and for the welfare of the horse.

It might also be a good idea to write to the other folks and express your concern in their not voting to make serious changes to the current TWHBEA image and to help the horse.  I'm sure some of these folks are going to come back with the old "weighted shoes" excuse, but don't let that deter you--the USDA will be determining the definition of a weighted shoe, and they're okay with the type of shoes that NWHA is using at their shows.

I also know I'm going to mention that I would be happy to renew my membership if TWHBEA will support HR 1518.

These are the folks who voted to uphold the vote of the EC.  (They voted "NO" to rescinding the vote.)
Tracy Boyd (TN) tboyd@twhbea.com
Stephen Brown (WA) brostephen@gmail.com
Fran Cole (CA) Fran.cole@sbcglobal.net
Keith Dane (MD) djuj@aol.com
Dee Hasler (IL) haslersdd@gmail.com
Marty Irby (TN) mirby@twhbea.com
Denise Bader-Keyser (Ger) dkeyser@twhbea.comdenisebader@twhb.de
Dr. Linda Montgomery (AL) no email listed
Joe Rankin (MS) rankininteriors@aol.com
Mick Salm (WI) mfsalm@aol.com
Pat Stout (TN) pstout@twhbea.comsswhfarm@aol.com 
Sherrie Szucs (OH) ssrunwalk@gmail.com
Nicole Tolle (CO) clearspringsranch@gmail.com
Richard Workman (IA) rworkman@netins.net

These are the folks who voted to rescind the vote.  (They voted "YES", to overturn the EC)
Rob Cornelius (AL) rtcbwc@yahoo.com
Heather Brook Curnow (WY) brook@mvhorseranch.com
Freda Dean (TN) fredardean@gmail.com
Harold Dean Givens (TN) agivens8822@att.net
Darden Gladney (LA) dgladney@glenbrookschool.com
Tommy Hale (AL) no email listed
Jessica Hlebak (NC) jlhlebak@ncsu.edu
Ty Irby (TN) tyirby@aol.com
Ann King (TX) circlestarfarm@yahoo.com
Christy Lantis (CA) clantis@twhbea.com
Kenny McGowan (AR) lmcbride@arlegalaid.org
Pam McKinney (VA) Pammckinney5@aol.com
Ronal Mosely (NC) TerriEM552@aol.com
Sharon Rice VA) sharrice@aol.com
Curt Rosemann (AZ) rosemann@rosemann.org
Jeff Smith (SC) jvsjr@charter.net
Sam Sorrel (KY) Sam.Sorrell@insightbb.com
Jeff Tanner (WV) jatanner@frontier.com
Margo Urad (TX) murada@rockwallins.com
Ronnie Vincent (KY) Kathyvincent77@gmail.com
Sherrie White (MI) cadence1st@comcast.net
William Wadsworth (MS) wadsworthfarms@bellsouth.net
Charles Wright (WV) bwright@trainerwright.com

Russ Keyser abstained from voting.

It's quite a list since some of the folks on the vote NO list have HPA violations.

So please, send out your messages to everyone on these lists.  Be polite and sensible, and hopefully we can get the message across that we are happy so many came to the true realization as to why TWHBEA continues to lose money and what image the BL has created.

No comments:

Blog Archive