"Today, Tennessee Walking Horses are known throughout the industry
as the breed that shows abused and tortured horses."

~ Jim Heird, Ph.D., Do Right By The Horse, February 2010

"If you have men who will exclude any of God's creatures from the shelter of compassion and pity,
you will have men who will deal likewise with their fellow men."

~ St. Francis of Assisi

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

NEWS - TWHBEA and WHTA Appoint HPA Violators to Their Boards...AGAIN

Will wonders never cease?

I've included the date of the person's violation(s) per the HPA online database. If it doesn't have a specification, then it's usually just a two week suspension. You can go on the database to learn more if you need to.

Here are my favorite bits of this merry Who's Who of Those Who Sore Horses.

First: every single person elected in WHTA has at least one violation, and most of them have multiple violations.

Second: Check out Dick Peebles, one of the board members of WHTA. He's got a CURRENT SUSPENSION FOR FIVE YEARS WITH WHTA! Amazing!

Third: And if that won't convince you that WHTA encourages soring horses, we can also see that Winky Groover was pushed out of the WHTA board. I bet you dollars to donuts it's because of his speech at the SHC. To me, this means WHTA is not serious about change if they are voting out the guy who is ready to make a change.

Fourth: In TWHBEA, Linda Montgomery was appointed Equine Welfare VP, and of course, she has a violation. An eight month violation, no less.

Fifth: The elected International VP in TWHBEA, Stephen Brown, also has violations. You know, the Europeans are on to the TWH industry, you idiots. If you had picked someone who doesn't have any violations you might have a better chance overseas.

Both articles are from The Walking Horse Report.


Cantrell Elected President of WHTA
Friday, December 03, 2010

FRANKLIN, Tenn. - The Walking Horse Trainers' Association held its general membership meeting today in Franklin, Tenn. at the Marriott Cool Springs. The major orders of business included a presentation from Frank Eichler, attorney for SHOW HIO, regarding SHOW's responses to the OIG Audit, Mandatory Penalties and HSUS Petition.

As happens each year, the December meeting is when the elections are held for the upcoming year. Bill Cantrell [2007 for Bill & Peggy, 2003] was elected President over incumbent Winky Groover [at least he admitted to his violations] and Wayne Dean [2007, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2001]. The following members were elected to serve three-year terms on the board of directors, Billy Gray [6 mos in 1988, 6 mos in 1993, 5 years starting 1994, 2002, 2005, twice in 2006 + 3 years starting in 2006, 2007], Larry Wheelon [2 years starting 1991, 1 year starting 1999, 3 times in 2001, 9 months in 2002, 9 months in 2003, 3 times in 2005 plus 6 months in 2005], Link Webb [7 months in 2002 - caught by the USDA, twice in 2005] and Brock Tillman [2004, 2005, current suspension 9/2009 - 9/2099]. Wayne Dean will serve out the two years remaining on Cantrell's term on the board.

Chad Williams [2002, 2004, twice in 2006], 1st Vice-President, and David Landrum [2 years in 1997, 1998, 2002, current suspension 6/2010 - 1/2099], 2nd Vice-President ran unopposed and were thus elected to serve just as they did in these roles in 2010.

Other members on the slate of directors included Jeff Green [8 months in 1998, 2002, 2003, twice in 2007, 2010], Dick Peebles [8 months in 1991, 2007, current suspension with WHTA 8/2007 - 8/2012], Frankie Roark [1 month in 2008], Brandon Stout [2004, 2005, 2 months in 2006, 2007, 2010], Laurie Toone [under family name Toone ticketed twice in 1998 for a one year suspension each], Vickie Self [8 months in 2004], Dude Crowder [3 years in 1991, twice in 2003, 8 months in 2006], Brad Beard [2007, 2009], Brad Davis [twice in 2005, 2008] and Joe Fleming [5 years in 1992, 2006].

A complete story on the meeting will be posted and in the print edition of the Walking Horse Report.


TWHBEA Elects 2011 Executive Committee; Irby Elected President

Saturday, December 04, 2010

By Jeffrey Howard

LEWISBURG, Tenn. - The Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders' & Exhibitors Association (TWHBEA) held its annual International Board of Directors meeting on December 4, 2010. Each year during the December meeting TWHBEA elects its upcoming year's executive committee.

The nominating committee, chaired by Brenda Carlon presented the following slate to the international board:

President: Kasey Kesselring [under family name Kesselring ticketed twice in 1998 for a one year suspension each]

Senior Vice President: Margo Urad [2007 with Stan Urad]

Administrative/Fiscal/Audit: Rob Cornelius [under family name Cornelius ticketed twice in 1998 for a one year suspension each]

Breeders Vice President: Kathy Zeis [2005]

Enforcement Vice President: Marty Irby [8 months in 2001]

Equine Welfare Vice President: Dr. Jim Baum [2005]

Horse Show Vice President: Tracy Boyd

Marketing Vice President: Joyce Moyer

Owners/Exhibitors/International VP: Stephen Brown [2005, 2008]

Performance Show Horse Vice President: Tom Kakassy [twice in 2009]

Pleasure Horse Vice President: Rick Wies

Training Division Vice President: Wayne Dean [2001, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007]

Member at Large/By Laws Vice President: Lloyd Hall Black, Jr.

Member at Large/Youth: Deborah Locke

Secretary: Sharon Brandon

Marty Irby declined the nomination for Vice President Enforcement thus leaving the spot open until nominations from the floor were received. Mike Hicks was nominated for the position and ran unopposed.

Nominations from the floor came in three positions, President, Equine Welfare and At-Large Youth. Irby was nominated for President, Dr. Linda Montgomery [8 months in 2001] for Equine Welfare and Leslie Topham and Lisa Bowman Anderson for Youth.

Each candidate in the contested races was afforded three minutes to address the directors. All other positions were accepted by acclamation. In a tight race Irby beat Kesselring 34 to 30. Dr. Linda Montgomery beat Dr. Jim Baum 53 to 11 and Bowman Anderson beat Topham 36 to 26 with Locke receiving 2 votes.

The 2011 Executive Committee immediately took office and will conduct the 2011 TWHBEA business.

No comments:

Blog Archive